The Chinese Zodiac Story

The Zodiac Ranking Race 

There are 12 Chinese zodiac signs, in the following order: Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig.

12 Chinese zodiac animal signs

Legend has it that, back in the ancient days, the Jade Empreor ordered that animals would become part of the calendar and that the 12 who arrived first would be selected.

At the time, the Cat and the Rat were good friends. When they heard the news, the cat said to the rat: “We should arrive early to sign up, but I usually get up late.”

Puppy love

The Rat promised to wake his pal up so they could go together but, because he was so exited, forgot and went alone.

On the way, the Rat bumped into the Tiger, Ox, Horse and other animals, who were all much faster than him.

He hatched a plan and convicted the Ox to carry him on his back, but on the condition that the Rat sang through the journey.

The Ox arrived first, but the Rat sneaked in front of him and became the first lucky animal.


By the time the Cat arrived, the selection was over- which is why the Cat hates Rat and will always try to chase and kill him…

Another version of the story says that Cat and Rat got as far as crossing the river together on Ox`s head, but Rat pushed the Cat into water and he  was washed away and droned or didn’t get back to the Heavenly Gate in time to get a ranking).

P.S. Rats are smarter than we think, Be Aware of Rats! 😉